El Paso County was created 1 November 1861 as an original county. In 1859 it was formed from old Arapahoe County in the territory of Kansas. On February 28, 1861 President James Buchanan signed an act organizing the Territory of Colorado. El Paso county was created by the Colorado legislature on November 1, 1861, and was one of Colorado's original 17 counties.  Originally based in Old Colorado City (now part of Colorado Springs, not today's Colorado City between Pueblo and Walsenburg), El Paso County's county seat was moved to Colorado Springs in 1873.  The name El Paso is Spanish for "the pass," after Ute Pass north of Pikes Peak.

Hi, I'm Colleen, and have returned as your County Coordinator.  If you have anything to contribute, any suggestions for inclusion on the site, or simply want to send a friendly greeting, just email me! I'd love to hear from you.

::  Please note ::  I am unable to help you with local research.

Would you like to host a COGenWeb site? All you need to do is contact Co-State Coordinator, Gail Meyer Kilgore, or me, Co-State Coordinator. If the county you wish to host is already taken, we keep a waiting list you can be added you to.


The COGenWeb Project
Gail Meyer Kilgore, Co-State Coordinator
Colleen Pustola, Co-State Coordinator
Billie Erin Walsh - Asst. State Coordinator

Michael Irwin - Asst. State Coordinator



 Last Updated: 02Sep2019