Weld County is one of the original Colorado Counties. In 1872 the eastern part was split off to form the short-lived Platte County. When Platte County was dissolved in1874, Weld County reverted to its 1861 borders. In 1887 the eastern part was split off to form Logan and Washington Counties. In 1889 the southeastern corner was split off to form Morgan County. In November 2001, a small portion of southwest Weld County was split off to help create Broomfield County. St. Vrain was the original county seat. Over a period of 16 years the county seat was moved from St. Vrain to Latham to Evans to Greeley to Evans and finally in 1877 it was returned to Greeley, where it remains to this day. For a brief history of Weld County, click here.


Weld County is bordered by, Logan, Morgan, Larimer, Boulder, Adams, and Broomfield Counties.

This website is maintained by Colleen Pustola. If you have anything to contribute, any suggestions for inclusion on the site, or simply want to send a friendly greeting, just email me! I'd love to hear from you.

I'm sorry, but I do not live in Weld County and am unable to help you with local research.

:: Weld County Flag :: Notices :: Help Needed

Do you have records you'd like to see placed on this website?  Please email me with your material attached.  Preferred formats are htm and html, however transcriptions in txt or doc is also acceptable.  Images should be in jpg or gif format. Please do not compress your images as I will take care of that.

This site last updated:
26 June 2015